TNSTC SETC Pongal 2018 Bus Operations From Chennai in Detail

Public Information, SETC, TNSTC

On the occasion of Pongal Festival 2018 and to facilitate hassle free travel experience of general public, the below mentioned arrangements are made by Government Transport Organisation by consulting the stakeholders.

TNSTC SETC Pongal Special Buses 2018

The special bus service from Chennai will start on 11th, 12th, 13th January 2018. The public and vehicle operators are requested to plan their journey as per the diversions mentioned below to make their travel hassle free.



  • Andhra Bound Buses


Operation of all Tamilnadu and A.P.S.R.T.C. buses to Andhra Pradesh Via Redhills will depart from Anna Nagar (West) Bus stand of MTC, Chennai.


  • Operation of Buses Via ECR


Operation of buses to PuducherryCuddalore and Chidambaram via ECR will depart from Saidapet Court Bus Stop (Opposite to Saidapet MTC Bus Depot) Chennai.


  • Operation of Buses Via Vikkravandy, Panrutti


Operation of all buses bound for Kumbakonam and beyond, Thanjavur via TindivanamVikkravandy (including SETC) will depart from Arignar Anna Bus StandTambaram-Sanatorium (MEPZ).


  • Operation of Buses Via Vellore


Operation of buses to ArcotAraniVelloreDharmapuriKrishnagiriTirupathurHosur via Poonamallee will depart from Poonamalle Bus Stand, Poonamallee.

The reserved passengers of above four sectors on 11.01.2018, 12.01.2018 and13.01.2018 with Boarding point as Koyambedu of the above routes are requested to board the buses at the above mentioned temporary bus stands from 11.01.2018 to 13.01.2018 and also other than reserved passengers of the above routes are requested to board in the buses at the above said places.


  • Operation of buses from CMBT


Operation of buses to various places other than mentioned above will be operated from CMBT, Koyambedu as usual i.e (Myladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Velankanni, Trichy, Madurai, Tirunelveli, Shencottah, Tuticorin, Thiruchendur, Nagercoil, Kanyakumari, Marthandam,Trivandrum, Karaikudi, Dindigul, Rameswaram, Panrutti, Neyveli, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Tiruvannamalai, Kancheepuram, Salem, Karur, Erode, Coimbatore, Guruvayur, Kottarakara, Ernakulam & Bangalore).



  • Reservation buses from CMBT, Koyambedu is to ply via Maduravoyal, Poonamallee, Nazarathpet, outer ring road, Vandalur instead of Tambaram, Perungalathur.
  • The reserved passengers with boarding point at  Tambaram and Perungalathur are requested to board concerned buses at Urapakkam Temporary bus stop instead of Tambaram and Perungalathur at the boarding time mentioned.

Source : TNSTC


About the author: A Public Transport Enthusiast ! Writing About Namma TNSTC and SETC in this blog !! I am trying to connect with Travel Enthusiast using Public Transport as there regular choice of travel !!

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.